Cross country team to begin season Thursday

Simon Hannig

The Kent State Flashes men’s and women’s cross country teams will kick off their 2015 season in Akron Thursday at the Tommy Evans Invitational, Sept. 10.

Kent State will bring back some key members from last season, including senior Rachel Slingluff, senior Brigid Callaghan, sophomore Madison Spreitzer, sophomore Morgan Bing, redshirt junior Kristen Bergmeyer, redshirt junior Hannah Fleck, redshirt junior Taylor Wickey, redshirt junior Lindsey Myers and redshirt sophomore Lauren Burnett.

Men’s cross country brought back fifth-year senior Samuel Allen, junior Mitchell Grose, sophomore Nick Schank and redshirt senior Grant Onken.

Last season at the Tommy Evans Invitiational, the women’s team finished in second place, with a 3-1 record at the invitational. The team beat Akron, Marshall and Youngstown State and lost to Malone.

Within the top 10 were  Slingluff in fourth with a time of 18:51 and Wickey coming in 10th at 19:31.

Kent State men’s cross country team placed fourth at the Tommy Evans Invitational and went 1-3. The team beat Marshall and lost to Akron, Malone and Youngstown State.

 In the men’s top 10, senior Matt Kahl finished eighth at 20:39.50.

 2015 Mens and Womens Cross Country Schedule:

Thursday, September 10 | Time: TBA

Tommy Evans Invite — Akron, Ohio


Friday, September 18 | Time: TBA

Virginia Tech Alumni Invite — Blacksburg, Virginia


Friday, October 2 | Time: TBA

All Ohio Championship — Cedarville, Ohio


Saturday, October 17 | Time: TBA

Princeton Invite — Princeton, New Jersey


Saturday, October 24 | Time: TBA

Cedarville Open — Cedarville, Ohio


Saturday, October 31 | Time: TBA

MAC Championships — Akron, Ohio


Friday, November 13 | Time: TBA

Great Lakes Regional — Madison, Wisconsin


Monday, November 23 | Time: TBA

NCAA Championships — Louisville, Kentucky

2015 Mens Cross Country Preseason CoachesPoll (First place votes in parentheses)

  1. Eastern Michigan (7)
  2. Akron
  3. Central Michigan
  4. Buffalo
  5. Miami
  6. Ohio
  7. Kent State
  8. Toledo
  9. Bowling Green

2015 Womens Cross Country Preseason CoachesPoll (First place votes in parentheses)

  1. Toledo (5)
  2. Eastern Michigan (4)
  3. Miami
  4. Bowling Green
  5. Central Michigan
  6. Western Michigan
  7. Northern Illinois
  8. Buffalo
  9. Kent State
  10. Ohio
  11. Akron
  12. Ball State

MAC Tournament Champion Votes: Toledo (5), Eastern Michigan (4)

Simon Hannig is a sports beat reporter for The Kent Stater. Contact him [email protected].