Big wigs on campus: a who’s who of the administration

Timken heads the governing body of Kent State University, made up of trustees appointed by the governor of Ohio. “The board is responsible for selecting and appointing the president; setting the operating budget; approving personnel appointments; granting all degrees awarded by the university, including honorary degrees; establishing tuition and fee rates; approving contracts; and approving all rules, regulations, curriculum changes, new programs and degrees of the university,” according to Kent State’s website. There are 11 full members who serve nine-year terms. There are also two student trustees, who are non-voting members and serve two-year terms.