Fraternities and sororities receive recognition at Greek Closing Ceremonies


Members of Alpha Xi Delta hug each after hearing that they have been awarded the Sorority of the Year. They were at the 2013 Fraternity and Sorority Awards in the Student Center Ballroom on April 30, 2013. Photo by Yolanda Li.

Mackenzie Wallace

The Greek Closing Ceremonies took place at 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 30, in the Student Center Ballroom.

“Tonight we will honor and recognize fraternity and sorority excellence at Kent State University, while recognizing individuals and chapters for achievements throughout the last year,” said Meredith Bielaska, assistant director for the Center of Student Involvement and Greek affairs.

Robert Lierenz, president of the Interfraternity Council, and Brianna Foraker, president of the Panhellenic Council, started off the evening by welcoming Greeks and giving a speech that reflected on the 2012-2013 school year and the Greek community.

“The experience[s] we gain today as fraternity men and sorority women are going to be the things that equip us to be the leaders of the world tomorrow,” said Lierenz, junior political science major. “As we come together tonight to recognize our individual successes, we’re all here because we have striven to make the Greek community better over the last year.”

Phi Mu sorority was recognized as the newest member of the Kent Greek community.

“The biggest change next year will be the presence of a new colony on campus,” said Foraker, senior early childhood education major. “After the hard work, time and dedication of the Panhellenic, we’re finally able to welcome Phi Mu onto our campus in the fall.”

The evening’s awards included:

Greek Week Awards

3rd place: Purple team

2nd place: Blue team

1st place: Green team

Academic Excellence Awards

Overall Chapter GPA: Delta Zeta sorority and Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity

Most Improved GPA: Delta Zeta sorority and Delta Tau Delta fraternity

Excellence in Academic Accountability: Delta Zeta sorority and Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity

Individual Academic Excellence: Delta Gamma sorority and Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity

Excellence in Academic Education and Programming: Alpha Xi Delta sorority and Phi Delta Theta fraternity

Involvement and Leadership Education Awards

Excellence in Campus Involvement: Chi Omega sorority and Kappa Sigma fraternity

Excellence in Greek Community Participation: Sigma Sigma Sigma sorority and Sigma Chi fraternity

Excellence in Leadership Education and Programming: Alpha Xi Delta sorority

Civic Responsibility Awards

Excellence in Philanthropy: Alpha Phi sorority and Alpha Tau Omega fraternity

Excellence in Community Service: Chi Omega sorority and Phi Delta Theta fraternity

Chapter Education and Programming Awards

Excellence in Risk Management Education: Alpha Xi Delta sorority

Excellence in Educational Programming: Alpha Xi Delta sorority

Chapter Operations Award

Excellence in Parent and Alumni Involvement: Alpha Phi sorority and Alpha Tau Omega fraternity

Interfraternity Council and Panhellenic Council

Individual Academic Excellence Scholarships: Zachary Renz, Lambda Chi fraternity

Kelsey Kobe, Alpha Xi Delta sorority

Greek Alumni Chapter Scholarship: Deanna Fleming, Chi Omega

Outstanding Educational Program Award: Alpha Xi Delta sorority

Order of Omega Emerging Leader Award: Nicholas Elder, Lambda Chi fraternity

Anna Lood, Alpha Xi Delta sorority

Outstanding Chapter President Award: Aubrey Luther, Delta Zeta sorority

Greek Man and Woman of the Year: Evan Gildenblatt, Alpha Epsilon Pi

Stephanie Tripi, Alpha Phi

Matthew Butts Greek Vision Award: Brianna Foraker, Chi Omega

Most Improved Fraternity and Sorority of the Year: Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity and Sigma Sigma Sigma sorority

Fraternity and Sorority of the Year: Kappa Sigma fraternity and Alpha Xi Delta sorority

Contact Mackenzie Wallace at [email protected].