Non-tenure track faculty, university reach tentative agreement

Alicia Balog

Kent State University’s Full-Time Non-Tenure Track (FTNTT) unit of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) reached a tentative agreement with the university.

Tentative Full-Time Non-Tenure Track agreement

DV.load(“//”, {

width: 350,

height: 500,

sidebar: false,

container: “#DV-viewer-605360-full-time-non-tenure-track-agreement”


Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Agreement (PDF)

Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Agreement (Text)

The FTNTT Executive Committee approved it February 15, according to an email sent by Tracy Laux, president of the unit, February 20. Union members will receive email invitations to participate in the voting in the next few days.

According to the tentative agreement posted on the AAUP-KSU’s website and to a January 18th post on Kent State website, faculty will receive:

  • Retroactive payment of a 2 ½ percent salary increase for academic year 2012 – 2013
  • Retroactive payment of promotion increases for academic year 2012 – 2013.
  • A longevity payment of $125 for each year of service (up to 16 years)
  • 2 ¼ percent across-the-board increase for academic year 2013 – 2014
  • 2 percent salary increase for academic year 2014 – 2015 from the 2013-2014 salary
  • 2 percent salary increase for academic year 2015 – 2016 from the 2014-2015 salary
  • Acceptance of the medical benefits provided to other university employees.

Two calls to Laux on February 20 were not returned.

Eric Mansfield, executive director of university media relations, said the university does not comment on agreements until everything has been finalized.

If approved by the union, the Board of Trustees will vote on the agreement, which will be a three-year contract until academic year 2015-2016.

Negotiations between the union and the university began July 12, 2012.

Contact Alicia Balog at [email protected].