Candidates file for house seat

Josh Johnston

Five candidates have filed to run for the 68th Ohio House seat being vacated by Rep. Kathleen Chandler, whose term ends at the end of this year.

Rick Hawksley, Kathleen Clyde and Sean Buchanan, all of Kent, will vie for the democratic primary, while Roak Zeller, of Kent, will run unopposed in the Republican primary. Both parties’ primaries will take place May 4.

Daniel Cartwright of Garrettsville filed to run for the seat under the Constitution Party. New to this year’s election, minor party candidates are allowed to list themselves on the ballot under their party label.

The 68th district includes the northern and southeastern portions of Portage County.

Chandler, a democrat, of Kent, will finish her fourth two-year term in the Ohio House this year. She is not eligible to run again because of term limits.

The filing deadline for candidacy was 4 p.m. yesterday.

In the county commissioner’s race, Chuck Keiper will run for re-election with Vicki A. Kline, of Kent, challenging him in the democratic primary. Republican Tommie Jo Marsilio, of Garrettsville, will also run.

Republican Janet Esposito, of Ravenna, will seek a fifth term as Portage County Auditor. Christopher Mallin, of Mogadore, filed to run under the democratic party.

Republican Judge Laurie J. Pittman, of Ravenna, filed to be re-elected as a judge for the Portage County Court of Common Pleas. Democrat Paula Giulitto, of Ravenna, filed to run for judge of the domestic relations court.

—Josh Johnston