NEOUCOM names new president

DKS Editors

Northeastern Ohio Universities Colleges of Medicine and Pharmacy has a new president.

Jay Alan Gershen, vice chancellor for external affairs for the University of Colorado-Denver, will replace Dr. Lois Margaret Nora, who announced plans in July 2008 to step down this year. Her contract expires Dec. 31.

Gershen will begin his term as NEOUCOM’s sixth president Jan. 15. The medical school’s Board of Trustees approved his selection today.

NEOUCOM, located in Rootstown, partners with Northeast Ohio universities – Kent State, University of Akron, Youngstown State and Cleveland State – who offer a bachelor’s degree program as a pathway to the medical school.

– Jackie Valley