USG fills final few positions for next year

Melissa Dilley

The Undergraduate Student Government is officially ready to be handed over to the new senators and directors.

Appointed senators were announced at yesterday’s meeting.

Appointed Senators Residence hall senator: Chadd Smith

&bull Non-traditional senator: Sharina Lukofnak

&bull Diversity senator:

Taiwo Adesina

&bull International senator: Sneha Jose

&bull Undergraduate studies senator:

Sean Zelmanovich

&bull Off-campus seantor: Leah Brady

n Off-campus senator: Julia Dove

Executive Director Jonathan Bey and Executive Director-elect Scott Sherwood spent two weeks interviewing applicants for the seven positions.

Bey said there were only nine applicants, with five positions running unopposed. The two off-campus senator positions were chosen from a pool of four student applicants.

Students voted to pass a referendum replacing the specific appointed positions to give more flexibility to the job.

Bey said, however, students will not see the change until next year because the referendum must next go on to the Board of Trustees before it can go into effect.

Both appointed and elected senators and directors will be sworn in to office at 7 p.m. April 16 in the Governance Chambers.

– Melissa Dilley