College of Business recognizes students, faculty and alumni

Anna Masters

Students, faculty and alumni of Kent State were recognized Saturday evening at the College of Business Administration and Graduate School of Management annual spring dinner celebration in the Student Center.

Two students, Christine Maynard and Heather Camburn, received the Linda Yost Book Scholarships.

Student scholars, student leaders and faculty who serve as advisers were recognized at the College of Business Awards Ceremony, which was held earlier in the afternoon. The Delta Sigma Pi scholarship key was presented to Christina Coltrin, who has the highest cumulative GPA and will be graduating in May with a degree in accounting.

The outstanding MBA awards are based on scholarship, professional experience, community service and contribution to the business community, Associate Dean Frederick Schroath said. Virginia Brandt received the award for the professional MBA students and Justine Metzler received the award for the full-time MBA students.

Schroath also presented Kyle Sponseller with the Hood-Meyerson Foundation Scholarship.

The winners of the College of Business Administration teaching awards were nominated by students and chosen by an awards committee, Associate Dean Donald Williams said. Students had to write an essay about the teachers’ teaching philosophy.

The winners were Adam Rapp for the tenured/tenure track award, Wendy Tietz for the full-time/non-tenure track award, William Howell for the part-time instructor award, and John Morris for the teaching fellow award.

Stevens presented Barry Fetterman with the Distinguished Alumni Award. Stevens said this is a difficult award because Kent State has so many great alumni to choose from.

Fetterman served on Kent State’s Centennial Commission and currently chairs the investment committee on the Board of Kent State University Foundation.

The Career Achievement Award was presented to John Brinzo, a 1964 Kent State alumnus who also gave Kent State a gift for the entrepreneurial lab.

John Ryan, community president for the Kent/Akron/Wadsworth offices of Huntington National Bank, was awarded the Chapter Honoree Award.

Ryan is the president of the board of trustees of the Kent Free Library, president of the board of the Kent Rotary Foundation and vice-chairman of administration Seneca District of the Great Trial Council for Boy Scouts of America.

Ryan has previously served as the President of United Way of Portage County and the Kent Area Chamber of Commerce.

Contact College of Business Administration reporter Anna Masters at [email protected].