KSU nearly sweeps scholarship competition

Emily Andrews

Five Kent State students and one University of Akron student were each awarded a $3,000 scholarship on Friday for journalism.

The Akron Press Club and the John S. Knight Memorial Journalism Fund Corp. sponsored the event at the Martin University Center in Akron.

According to the program, these annual scholarships are given to outstanding university students studying journalism, communications and public relations.

The winners of the scholarships were Stephanie Blackstone, senior Kent State photojournalism major, won for photojournalism; Tim Magaw, sophomore Kent State newspaper journalism major, won for news reporting; Stephanie Park, senior Kent State visual journalism major, won for page design and visual journalism; David Yochum, senior Kent State newspaper journalism major, won for news reporting and Vincent Dorsey, a junior University of Akron news and public relations major, won for news reporting.

The Ludel Sauvageot Scholarship of $3,000 goes to an outstanding university student in public relations. Alexia Harris, junior Kent State public relations major, won.

Ron Syroid, president of the Akron Press Club, said the speeches made by the students were “mostly about how they want to make the world a better place.”

Contact College of Communication and Information reporter Emily Andrews at [email protected].