Hard workers recognized

Amadeus Smith

Family, community important to Ebony award winners

Students and faculty celebrated academic success last night with the 31st annual Black United Students Ebony Achievement Awards and the 26th annual Alpha Kappa Mu Induction Ceremony.

Event speakers, such as Marlene Dorsey, dean of the College of Continuing Studies, agreed that all academic success is a result of strong roots in family and community.

“We don’t become successful on our own,” Dorsey said. “We must remember vividly the voices of our parents, our grandparents …”

She added that having a strong tie to family and community is a large part of African-American culture, and this was one of the seven principles from The Nguzo Saba, the value system of Kwanzaa.

Dorsey said the guidelines included principles such as self-determination and faith in oneself and others, and that the principles will lead to success in life.

Francis Dorsey, Marlene’s husband and associate professor in the department of Pan-African studies, agreed that the principles should be used beyond academia.

“The seven principles were also our wedding vows, so I think they are very important,” Francis said.

Shanelle Smith, president of NAACP Kent State University Chapter, said success comes from building networks with people in the community and on campus.

Smith accepted the award for Organization of the Year on behalf of the NAACP.

“It’s amazing that we’re recognized for our achievements,” Smith said.

She said she believed the group won because of a consistency in on-campus programming.

Preston Mitchum, who has participated in groups such as Undergraduate Student Senate, BUS and Kent State Pre-Law Club, was named BUS leader of the Year.

Mitchum said he didn’t expect the award.

“I was very surprised because I’m not even on BUS’s executive board,” he said. “I would figure they would select a board member.”

Mitchum also said he felt a strong connection with the community.

“Just to be recognized in your own community means you’re building unity,” Mitchum said.

Sasha Parker, BUS president, said the nomination process starts with BUS’s executive board sending award applications to all minority students and groups. The groups must then explain service they have conducted for the year as well as provide proof.

What’s more, the student or group must include a letter of recommendation from a faculty member or respected member of the community.

Finally, board members vote to determine the winner for each category.

Marlene Dorsey told attendees that success shouldn’t end with last night’s winners.

“The challenge is to continue moving forward in a positive direction,” Dorsey said.

Contact minority affairs reporter Amadeus Smith at [email protected].

BUS Ebony Achievement Awards

Fraternity of the Year

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Sorority of the Year

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Organization of the Year

Kent State University NAACP

BUS Leader of the Year

Preston Mitchum

Crosby-Smith Leadership Award

Michelle McCall

Shana Scott

Shirley Crosby Service Award

George Garrison, professor in the department of Pan-African studies

Athletes of the Year

Haminn Quaintance

Krista Groce

Advisor of the Year

Pamela Jones

Outstanding Faculty Member

Francis Dorsey, associate professor

Alpha Kappa Mu Induction

Mu MU Chapter Inductees

Eric Bell

Shasta Dowell

Rachelle Fraise

Evelyn Francis

I-Perfection Harris

Raymond Hart

Madonna Igah

Erica Johnson

Dionna Legard

Bruce Mitchell

Jessica Ohaju

Robin Parrish

Robert Sneed

Marisia Styles

Lucrecia Tolbert

Wendi Willis

honorary inductee Wendy Wilson-Fall, associate professor in the department of Pan-African studies

Hulda Smith-Graham Academic Excellence Awards

(Freshman 3.0 GPA or better)

Christopher Boros

Jayme Brumn

Mark Cain

Anita Carter

Kelah Cavin

Appolinia Cleaves

Brittany Devezin

Kayla Griffin

Nyla Harris

Antontio High

Darla Jackson

David Jackson

Nicole Johnson

Vianna Matthews

Antoinette Richardson

Karena Russell

Allyson Smoot

Stephanie Spaulding

Stacy Sutton

Che Thomas

Chloie Townsend

Sonya Tubbs

Ashlee Ward

Cara White

Erica Williams

Khadijah Wilson

Brittani Willis

Ebony Achievement Awards

(High Academic Achievement 3.0 GPA or better)

Leannie Arbelaez

Appollonia Cleaves

Brandon J. Garcia

Saul Y. Gonzalez

Alexandria Harris

Antonio High

Alex Hill

Ebony John

Alexis Jones

Tyronda Kelly

ShyJuan Larkin

Darren Lorenzi

Yanilsa Mendez

Tiara Mills

DeMarcus Monroe

Abra Morgan

Hector Muniz

Jalayna A. Nadal

Adrian Neal

Christian Newman

Ricardo Nieves

Robert Okuadjo

Yolanda Oster

Gianfranca E. Pena Diaz

Jose Rivera

Arianne Robinson

Tawnie Romero-Golic

Dylan Sellers

Matt Speed

Alexandria Styles

Marisia Styles

Brittany Watts