Field hockey’s season ends with MAC championship loss


The field hockey team gathers in a huddle. Courtesy of Kent State athletics. 

No.1 Kent State field hockey ended the season with a 2-1 loss to No.2 Miami University in the Mid-American Conference tournament championship game at Miami Saturday.

The Flashes offense got off to a quick start with sophomore forward Sydney Carr scoring the game’s first goal early in the first period, but it was the only offensive success the team would have.

“I think we came out with a lot of energy in the first half and were able to put the first goal in,” coach Kyle Desandes-Moyer said.

Kent held Miami to just six shots in the first three periods, but Miami scored two goals on five shots in the fourth period to win the game. The goals were scored by junior forward/midfielder Lexi Nugent and junior midfielder Leonor Berlie. 

“Miami just made some adjustments and came out with some new energy in the second half and capitalized on that new energy,” Desandes-Moyer said.

Kent State  had four penalty corner opportunities and Miami had five opportunities throughout the game.

“It was a battle and we were able to play two people down for around four minutes and didn’t give up a goal which is a pretty great testament to our composure,” Desandes-Moyer said.

Kent used two goalies on the afternoon, junior Azure Fernsler in the first half and senior Mary Crumlish in the second half. Fernsler recorded two saves and Crumlish had three on the afternoon.

“We are regular season champions and will host the tournament next year which I think is huge for us,”  Desandes-Moyer said. “We definitely saw an increase in offensive production from last year which is a huge positive for this team.”

The Flashes ended the season with a record of 10-8 in the regular season and 5-1 in conference play. 

Kent’s junior back/midfielder Clara Rodriguez Seto, sophomore midfielder Helena Cambra Soler and senior forward Laila Richter all made the All-MAC First Team. Sophomore forward Luisa Knapp and senior midfielder Berta Jover Llorens made the All-MAC Second team. Desandes-Moyer won MAC coach of the year.

Contact Kathryn Rajnicek at [email protected]