Wrestling finishes third in Brookport/Oklahoma Invitational

Ray Strickland

2014 Brookport/Oklahoma Invitational Results

The Kent State wrestling team had three individuals claim titles to finish in third place with 120.0 team points at the Brookport/Oklahoma Invitational on Saturday.

Senior 174-pounder Caleb Marsh, junior 141-pounder Kyle Bauer and junior 174-punder Cole Baxter each earned their first tournament titles of the year.

The Oklahoma Sooners took home their 16th straight tournament title as a team.

At 174, Marsh went 4-0, getting a pair of pins and defeating Army’s Brian Harvey, 12-9, in the finals.

Bauer also went 4-0 and notched a 6-4 decision in the finals over Lock Haven’s Robert Rehm.

“I was pretty happy with the way we wrestled, considering we had two of our best guys out of the lineup,” Kent State coach Jim Andrassy said of juniors Ian Miller and Mike DePalma in an interview with kentstateports.com. “Oklahoma wrestled all of their starters and if we had those two, we would have been right there with them. There’s going to be times throughout the year we have guys out so our backups need to get better.”

Oklahoma’s Cody Brewer defeated junior 133-pounder Mack McGuire in an 11-2 decision. Brewer is ranked No. 3 in the country, according to Amateur Wrestling News.

In his first appearance as a Flash, true freshman Anthony Tutolo recorded a fourth place finish at 125. Tutolo won his first two matches before losing a 3-2 decision in the semifinals.

Baxter secured a 9-2 win against Bloomsberg’s Mike Mirra in the semifinals before beating Lock Haven’s Phil Sprenkle, 4-2, in the finals.   

Junior 125-pounder Del Vinas finished in seventh, going 3-2 in the tournament. At 165 pounds, junior Tyler Buckwalter placed fifth, and redshirt freshman Jerald Spohn finished in eighth. 

True freshman Sam Breese finished the tournament in sixth at 285, and junior 184-pounder Mike Vollant finished in eighth place.

The Flashes will travel to Columbus on Thursday night to take on No. 4 Ohio State. The match is set to begin at 7 p.m.

Contact Ray Strickland at [email protected].