Kent State officially acquires Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine

Leighann McGivern

The Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine officially became the Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine on July 1.

A ribbon-tying event to celebrate the partnership will take place at the college on August 8. The college, which was established in 1916, is the only accredited podiatry school in Ohio.

The acquisition will give expanded academic options to podiatric students in areas such as public health, biomedical sciences, medical ethics and sports medicine, according to a university press release.

“This partnership with Kent State is truly a positive opportunity for the college and our students,” said Dr. Thomas V. Melillo, chief executive officer of the College of Podiatric Medicine, in the press release. “This is truly a win-win situation for both organizations. The college will now be part of a larger academic entity that can provide more resources for our students, and Kent State will have its only graduate medical college, which only increases its professional status.”

The new college, located on Rockside Woods Boulevard in Independence, will offer approximately 60 courses leading to the Doctor of Podiatric Medicine degree. The college has more than 6,000 podiatry graduates and currently maintains an average four-year total enrollment of 430 students.

Contact Leighann McGivern at [email protected].