Ford wins MAC coach of the year award

Cody Erbacher

Ford earned 13 first-place votes

Ford is the seventh coach in Kent State history to win the title.

Kent State men’s basketball coach Geno Ford was named the 2010 Mid-American Conference Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year in an official announcement made by the league office yesterday.

Ford, who is in his second season as the head coach, led the voting with 13 first-place votes, trailed by Akron’s Keith Dambrot (10) and Ball State’s Billy Taylor (1). Ford led the Flashes to the their fourth regular-season conference title in school history, finishing with a record of 23-8 after starting 10-7.

“As for winning awards, that kind of stuff happens when you win championships,” said Ford in the MAC weekly teleconference. “I’m very fortunate. I’ve got an unbelievable staff. It’s really a deal where I’m fortunate to have good people around me.”

The award marks the seventh time in Kent State’s history that its head coach has been awarded the honor. Jim Christian last received the award in 2008.

“We have great support from the University and Athletic Administration here at Kent State,” Ford said. “Our success is made possible due to the commitment we receive from Director of Athletics Laing Kennedy and President Lester Lefton.”

The MAC Player of the Year was also announced yesterday with the award going to Western Michigan’s David Kool, who won with 13 first-place votes.

Senior guard Chris Singletary finished in second with six votes and sophomore forward Justin Greene finished third with two votes.

The Flashes will take on Ohio on Thursday in their first MAC Tournament game at 7 p.m. at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland.

— Cody Erbacher