Trustees accept new collective bargaining agreement

Allison Smith

The Board of Trustees voted to accept a proposed collective bargaining agreement (CBA) for August 2009 to August 2012. Almost a month earlier, members of the Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Faculty Unit of the American Association of University Professors voted to accept the CBA as well. The proposed CBA has been ratified by both parties and will go into effect on Aug. 16, 2009.

The biggest changes have to do with appointments to non-tenure track (NTT) faculty. Before, they were defined as “previously instructional,” but the new CBA states four different tracks that NTTs can hold: instructional, clinical, practitioner and research.

NTT Unit President Tracy A. Laux defined the new tracks in an e-mail.The teaching track is who the NTT members currently are, Laux said. The clinical is who the NTT members in the College of Nursing currently are.

The research track was designed to lure professional researchers to Kent State, and the practitioner track refers to the Miami Quartet and College of Architecture’s Cleveland office that does not belong to a collective bargaining unit.

Contact principal reporter Allison Smith at [email protected].