Faculty Senate sets goals for summer, fall

Maria Nann

Faculty Senate has elected its new executive committee.

Newly elected officers are Chair Thomas Janson, professor of music; Vice Chair Paul Farrell, professor of computer science; Secretary James Tyner, professor of geography; and at-large elected member Paul Abraham, associate professor of math.

Appointed members include Betty Freund, lecturer in the College of Nursing and Lowell Zurbuch, associate professor in the College of Technology.

Janson said the Senate’s goals for the summer include “discussion and implementation of the Educational Policies Council recommendations for curricular changes.”

The EPC has proposed that a Bachelor of Applied Career Studies degree be offered at Kent State’s seven regional campuses, and that minor programs in Chinese and Japanese languages and a master’s degree in Hospitality and Tourism Management be offered at all Kent State campuses. The council also proposed that associate degrees in technology include Urban Environment Management Technology to “transition technicians into a supervisory role,” Janson said.

“This particular proposal is intended to attract adult students who completed a portion of their college degree but were unable to finish,” Janson said of the applied career studies proposal. “Our research shows that there is a large population to whom this completer degree will be attractive.”

The Faculty Senate will hold its next meeting at 3:20 p.m. July 14 in the Governance Chambers in the Student Center.

Contact principal reporter Maria Nann at [email protected].