Kent State President Todd Diacon announces faculty excellence award recipients

Kent State University President Todd Diacon announced the six 2020 faculty excellence award recipients Wednesday. The award recognizes faculty for exceptional performance that leads to the achievement of national or international recognition in the member’s discipline.

The 2020 President’s Faculty Excellence Award recipients are:

  • Gianna Commito, professor of painting in the School of Art.
  • Karl Kosko, associate professor in the School of Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Studies. 
  • Hanbin Mao, professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
  • Joseph Ortiz, professor in the Department of Geology. 
  • Christopher Woolverton, professor of environmental health sciences in College of Public Health. 
  • Jon Yoder, associate professor in the College of Architecture and Environmental Design. 

Tenured and tenure-track faculty members in all disciplines from all Kent State campuses were eligible based on recommendations to department chairs and deans. 

A total of 59 nominations and self-nominations were received from faculty, and six were recommended by the provost and approved by the president. 

For more details about the 2020 award winners and their contributions, visit