USS fills seven senator spots

Jenna Staul

Undergraduate Student Senate unanimously voted on seven appointed positions for Undergraduate Student Government yesterday.

The USG charter determined that the spots would be appointed because not enough candidates were expected to run for the positions.

The senators chosen will serve alongside the 19 USG members that were elected earlier this month. The senator for undergraduate studies position was vacated during the election but was appointed yesterday.

“I feel I’m really well-qualified,” said Jared Smith, newly appointed senator for off-campus and commuter students. “I still had to get the 170 signatures that everybody else did. I actually got well over 200 just to be safe.”

Katie Hale, current USS executive director, said she welcomes the new members of USG as the final part of the group’s yearlong transition.

“It feels great — we have a whole new family,” Hale said. “I’m happy with how the process went. It gave candidates who were really qualified but didn’t get elected a chance to serve on USG.”

USS will hold a training workshop for the new USG senators and directors from 6 to 8 p.m. April 4 in the governance chambers. Hale said Executive Director-elect Jonathan Bey is organizing a social function for the new members to get acquainted as well.

Appointed USG Positions

• Senator for residence halls, Joe Derkin

• Senator for nontraditional students, Jeffry Kuthan

• Senator for diversity, Adrian Neal

• Senator for international students, Annah Trunick

• Senator for off-campus and commuter students, Andrew Fontanarosa

• Senator for off-campus and commuter students, Jared Smith

• Senator for undergraduate studies, Anthony Zimmerman

Contact student politics reporter Jenna Staul at [email protected].