Leaders honored at celebration

Shauna Stottsberry

Students were recognized for their leadership, accomplishments and services to one or more Kent State organizations at the 28th Annual Student Leadership and Honors Award Celebration and Inauguration.

Eighteen award categories were recognized last night and many more awards were presented.

The American Red Cross kicked off the celebration by presenting President Carol Cartwright with an award recognizing Kent State’s efforts in Biloxi.

“This is a wonderful honor,” Cartwright said. “It reminds us of the commitment we have, and it affirms the values we have at Kent State.”

Following the presentation of the Biloxi award, all newly elected officers of student organizations, including new members of the Undergraduate Student Senate, took their oaths of commitment to service.

Ross Miltner, executive director of the Undergraduate Student Senate, said he would work vigorously to make sure all senate promises are fulfilled and every goal is reached. He said he would work with Ben Feld, senator for student advancement, to address the issue of student safety on campus.

“I will work with the safety commission and student senate to evaluate the current safety,” Feld said.

“It is my goal to increase the amount of emergency call boxes and improve lighting throughout campus,” he said.

Cartwright presented each award following the oaths.

The Distinguished Student Leader Awards went to Anthony Bocchicchia and Justin Jeffery.

The Organization Excellence Awards went to the American Library Association/Associated Library Science Students of Ohio, the Biology Graduate Student Council and the Public Relations Student Society of America.

The Adviser Excellence Awards went to Michele Ewing, Lauren Odell-Scott and Jeanne Smith.

Student Employees of the Year included Matt Hizer, Jennifer Jones, Jamie Klintworth, Jacqueline Newman, Cameron Rollheiser, Eric Walch and Michelle West.

The Eric Rackham Awards went to Karli Chaboudy and Angela Mellon.

The Margaret Swanson Davis Awards were presented to Jason Lunsford and Shayla Patton.

The Emerging Student Leader Awards went to Mary Chimney, Elizabeth Eureka, Stephen Fischer, Sarah Roman, Kathleen Spotz and Douglas Wachtel.

The Mary Manchester Awards went to Erin Carlton and William Ross.

The Cindy Bowlby Awards were presented to James Flores and Meaghan Sweney.

The Manchester Cup Awards went to Danielle Giroux and Timothy Miller.

The Community Excellence Awards went to Lindsey Cecala, Carli Cichocki and Justin Jeffery.

The Service Excellence Awards went to the Accounting Association and Laurels Chapter of Mortar Board.

The Student Leader of the Year Awards went to Christine Bostardi, Matthew Fifolt, Preston Mitchum, Elaine Laps, Katie Purcell, Traci Sanders, Melissa Schlotterer, Megan Vogias and Christopher Taylor.

The Nancy and John Scott Leadership Award went to Elaine Laps.

Contact College of Architecture and Environmental Design and School of Art reporter Shauna Stottsberry at [email protected].