Finalists for Stratosphere Art Competition announced

Zak Kinkaid

Director of the Cleveland Arts Prize Alenka Banco has selected the finalists for the 2016 Stratosphere Juried Art Competition, which was narrowed down to 25 participants out of a pool of 200 entrants.

Effie Tsengas, communications and marketing director for the College of Arts, said the finalists’ work will be on display from April 20 to April 30 at Kent State University’s Downtown Gallery. A reception and awards ceremony will take place from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. on Thursday, April 21 with winners announced at 6 p.m.

Visitors to the exhibition on April 20 (noon to 7 p.m.) and April 21 (noon to 6 p.m.) will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite artwork in the People’s Choice Award category, which carries a $500 prize. That award, along with Best in Show ($1,000), First Runner-Up ($500) and Second Runner-Up ($250) will be presented during the April 21 reception, according to a press release.

This year’s 25 Stratosphere finalists are:

Yasmin Ali, Emily Blystone, Moriah Bruening, Logan Drake Bruni, Justin Buescher, Valerie Buynak, Biqin Chen, Olivia Eitzman, Rachel Fortenbaugh, Shelby Gill, Samuel Hersh, Kathleen Huber, Paige Joy, Abbey Kish, Gyula Kozmon, Ruizhi Li, Katie Metcalf, Kathleen Morris, Monica Ramser, McKenzie Rhodes, Jacob Sas, Abigail E. Schnure, Michael Scupholm, Ashley Spangler and Amanda Stumpf.

Zak Kinkaid is the continuing studies and distance education reporter for The Kent Stater. Contact him at [email protected].