TV2: Provost finalists announced

Doug Rogers

KentWired Video

var so = new SWFObject(‘’,’mpl’,’665′,’450′,’9′);





After sorting through the candidates, the provost search committee narrowed down the list of candidates to replace current Kent State Provost Robert Frank. The committee today announced the four finalists after reviewing applications since late October.

This includes David Francko from the University of Alabama, Todd Diacon from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, Bernard Mair from the University of Florida and Kent State’s own Timothy Moerland.

Moerland currently serves as the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Francko graduated with two degrees from Kent State.

The provost search committee and its chair, Dr. Daniel Mahony, consider how each candidate’s approach suits the university’s needs.

“How they interact with people. Are they the type of person who can take certain initiatives and move them foreword? Work well with faculty, students and staff. That’s the type of things we tend to look at in the second phase. So, the first phase tends to be very paper-oriented and then the second phase is do they have the type of approach we would need,” Dr. Mahony said.

The job description also lists the challenges the next provost faces. They include improving student retention and graduate rates, expanding research funding, increasing distance learning and updating classrooms and laboratories.

The candidates will host open forums during their campus visits, starting Monday and continuing through early February.

President Lefton is expected to name the new provost later in the month. That’s after he considers input from the search committee and negotiates with the top choice.

Contact Doug Rogers at [email protected].