Tips from a seasoned vegetarian

Melissa Dilley

Types of Vegetarians

Lacto-ovo vegetarian

Eats both dairy products and eggs. This is the most common type of vegetarian diet.

Lacto vegetarian

Eats dairy products but not eggs.


Does not eat dairy products, eggs, or any other animal product.

Helpful tips

for beginners

Always read labels

Some foods can contain animal fats or gelatin which is made from animal bones, fat or tendons.

Ask questions

When eating out, make sure to ask for a vegetarian menu. If not, don’t be afraid to make substitutions.

Be picky

At restaurants or at dinner with friends, check cooking surfaces and utensils to make sure nothing is getting mixed in with your meat-free meal.

Get your nutrients

It’s easy at first to be wary of trying meat substitutes, but there are still ways to get your vitamins. Make sure your diet is balanced by adding in nuts and beans for protein and fiber.

Don’t give in

Others may question and tease you for your choices. At first, you may even be pressured to go back to your unhealthy eating style, but once you show how much you are committed, you will be taken seriously.

Try something new

Buy some vegetarian cookbooks, check out a local natural foods store or farmer’s market or buy meatless products at almost any grocery store.

The vegetarian kitchen


•fresh fruits and vegetables

•vegetable oil

•olive oil

•peanut butter

•canned beans and pulses

•canned soups

•Dried pasta


•Dried herbs and spices


•Free-range eggs


•Vegetarian cheese

•Butter or margarine

•Natural yogurt


•Tortilla wraps

•Ready rolled pastry


•Frozen meatless products such as veggie burgers and soy crumbles

•Pizza sauce and ready-made crust

•A variety of frozen vegetables

•Ready-made meals

— Melissa Dilley