KSU wins more SPJ Region 4 awards than any other school

DKS Editors

Kent State walked away with 18 Region 4 Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence Awards at Saturday’s ceremony in Columbus.

Kent State received more awards than any other school in the region.

First place winners will compete against winners from the 11 other regions and will be announced at the SPJ national conference Aug. 27-30.

Here are the winners:

Breaking News Reporting

&bull Third Place – Megan Rozsa, Caitlyn Wachovec, Sept. 11 memorial coverage

General News Reporting

&bull First Place – Tyrel Linkhorn, “I didn’t know you, but I loved you,” coverage of the shootings at Northern Illinois University.

&bull Second Place – Staff, Daily Kent Stater, “Five years later: Life after five years in Iraq”

Editorial Cartooning

&bull Second Place – Christopher Sharron

Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper (published 4+ times per week)

&bull Second Place – Daily Kent Stater

Non-Fiction Article

&bull First Place – Ted Hamilton, “The Last Great Gun Debate,” The Burr

&bull Second Place – Ben Wolford, “A New Era,” Fusion

&bull Third Place – Sarah Steimer, “Anyone can come and not be judged,” Fusion

Best Student Magazine

&bull First Place – Fusion

&bull Second Place – The Burr

Feature Photography

&bull Second Place – 24 hours in Portage County

Best Affiliated Web Site

&bull First Place – CyBurr

&bull Second Place – KentNewsNet.com

Online Sports Reporting

&bull First place – KentNewsNet.com, Kent State football vs. Akron

Online News Reporting

&bull First place – KentNewsNet.com, Prentice Hall fire

TV In-Depth reporting

&bull First place – Julie Landis, Lauren Yelichek, Jenelle Maddox, Cystic Fibrosis

TV General News Reporting

&bull First place – Kyle Miller, Center of Hope

&bull Third place – Julie Landis, MROD