Distinguished Staff Awards given out today

President Carol Cartwright will give a cash prize to Distinguished Staff Award recipients at a special breakfast today.

This year, there are eight winners in four categories. They were chosen by a panel of about 30 staff members and former winners of the Distinguished Staff Award, Special Events Coordinator Carla Wyckoff said.

Employee Relations Specialist Karen Watson won the Outstanding University Citizen Award for her work in the Kent community.

“It’s unbelievable that I won this award,” said Watson, who works with the Boy Scouts and National Guard and Reserve. “I was surprised because I don’t think I do anything exceptional. I’ve volunteered in the community since I was 10 years old.”

The production team from teleproductions won the Quality Service Team Award for producing videos for faculty and staff.

The five teleproductions team members work well together, their supervisor Dave McCoy said.

“I love working with these guys,” he said. “They’re so full of fresh ideas. It’s exciting for me to come to work with them everyday.”

Other recipients include University Leadership award winner Diane Walker, who is the director of enrollment management and services at Stark Campus, and Individual Quality Service award winner Tina Patterson, who is a senior secretary at the College of Nursing.

-Amanda Garrett