Track athletes reach NCAA qualifying marks

Jody Michael

Two runners

make the cut

Two Kent State track and

field athletes earned NCAA provisional

qualifying marks this

weekend as the team competed

in the Meyo Invitational hosted

by Notre Dame.

Junior Alex Lizarribarr qualified

in the women’s 5,000-meter run with a time of 17:00.50, sixth best

at the meet. Junior Destin

Heasley followed by finishing the

men’s 800-meter run fifth in 1:50.59

to qualify.

Lizarribarr and Heasley join

Dean Wood (high jump), Kenneth

Agee (high jump) and Diana Dumitrescu

(pentathlon) as Flashes who

have provisionally qualified for the

NCAA Championships.

Heasley also took part in the

men’s 4×400-meter relay team with

Matt Moffett, Javon Walker and

Curtis Eaton. The group’s 3:11.58

time was good for fifth place.

Other notable performances

came from senior throwers Tony

Connor and Effua Ampadu. Connor

’s 18.93-meter toss ranked

third place in the men’s division,

and Ampadu took seventh with

her throw of 18.19 meters.

The men’s distance medley

team of Colin Pettiford, Brandon

Bailey, Stephen Fischer and

Michael Heller were second

with a time of 10:01.51. Meanwhile,

the women’s team of

Kelly Gephart, Juliet Alrich, Jessica

Lhotsky and Audrey Maheu

finished fourth in 11:43.38.

The track teams will compete in

the Akron Invitational this weekend

at the Stile Field House.

Contact sports reporter Jody

Michael at [email protected].